AWS ATF Testing

Most welding codes require that each manufacturer or contractor certify their own welders. This means a welding test taken for XYZ Company cannot be transferred to another company if you change employment. The American Welding Society has established a National Registry of Welds to help with this requirement in some industries.

On April 27, 2009, Earlbeck Technical Center was awarded accreditation as an American Welding Society (AWS) Accredited Test Facility (ATF). Through this program a welder who successfully passes a certification test receives a card from AWS which can be taken to any employer without having to recertify.

In March 2004 the Maryland State Highway Administration (MSHA) discontinued the testing of welders at their facility and adopted a regional welder certification program in conjunction with the Federal Highway Administration's Mid-Atlantic Structural Committee for Economic Fabrication (SCEF). Welders must certify at an ATF in order to perform D1.5 Bridge Welding Code work on highway projects in the Mid-Atlantic region, including the State of Maryland.

This certification will be accepted by the following States Department of Transportation (DOT): Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington D.C. and Pennsylvania.

Certifications in accordance with Supplement C or D9.1 for the Sheet Metal Welding Code require maintenance every
12 months. Certifications in accordance with D1.1 require maintenance every 6 months. Check the requirements of the standard that governs your certification to assure that maintenance is received by AWS at the proper intervals. The cost for renewal is $15.00.

If you are an AWS Certified Welder in need of renewing your certification, download this form, fill out and send in by the expiration date to properly maintain your certification.

Contact Earlbeck for more information or to schedule a test.

Don Hodges, CWI & CWE
Testing & Training Manager
443-579-1123 office
410-687-1394 fax


General Line 410-687-8400